National Kit Car Show (Stoneleigh) 2009

Posted: May 3, 2009 in General

Hard to believe it has been a year since my last blog post about the largest Kit Car show in the World held in Stoneleigh (near Coventry) each May.

Last year my trip to Stoneleigh was made full of enthusiasm. I was halfway through my build, had a list of parts I needed and jobs to be done.

Twelve months on and the car is finished and has spent the winter in the garage gathering dust. I really currently don’t need to get anything for the car and whilst I would love to start another build tomorrow, but with a new baby in the house and the current economic environment, I have no plans to start a new build anytime soon.

So with no shopping list and no new car build on the horizon, the trip to Stoneleigh was more out of interest than anything else, and that is probably why I felt strangely disappointed with the show.

All the usual suspects were there and the show was fairly crowded but I just struggled to get into the show.

Once again, I visited the show with my good friend and business partner Peter who is a hardcore ‘off road’ fan and is currently trying to persuade his better half to let him build his own kit car so one thing we did want to checkout was the Dakar 4×4 area.

As ever there was plenty of great cars to checkout and I remembered to take a few photos to include in my blog. Here are the highlights.

IMG_0256  

The first car we saw was a beauty. Not sure what it is, maybe a Beauford but not sure.

IMG_0277

Cobras as far as the eye can see. The Cobra club was well represented and the sunshine ensured a good turnout.

IMG_0270

Same thing for Lotus 7 style cars. Made me think I should have taken mine (except it is in bits at the moment but more on that in a later post).

IMG_0259

One of the first cars we saw inside the hall was the new Storm Warrior which is a Hummer H1 replica. This is an enormous car but it looked cool.

IMG_0262

Factory Five Racing had a pair of Cobras on their stand. I love this ‘Les Mans’ version of the car.

IMG_0258

I also really liked this Murciélago replica by Extreme Cars which are based in my home town of Hull. Impressively, they had a real car and their replica side by side on stand, and they looked identical. I am not usually interested in this type of thing but I was really sold on this so I think it is certainly something I will investigate further over the next 12 months.

IMG_0271

As I mentions, Peter has a great interest in 4×4’s and specifically Land Rovers but anything ‘jeep’ like was worth a look.

IMG_0278

We also saw this new monster by Dakar called the mutant. Dakar were also running passenger rides around an off road course in standard Dakar cars. We went round the course and can recommend it to anyone. It was a fairly hardcore course but the Dakar handled it with easy but it was a hell of a ride for£4!

IMG_0265

More dream cars in the form of Ultima GRT’s.

IMG_0275

And maybe not everyone’s dream car but I still love the old Nova kit car. I would love to buy an old one of these and restore it.

IMG_0273

IMG_0274

Just look at them!

And finally on dream cars (well mine anyway), Stratos replicas.

IMG_0264  

IMG_0269

Westfield were running passenger rides, looked really exciting but there was a big line.

IMG_0267

Plenty of Ferrari replicas.

Heading back in to the halls, there was plenty to grab our attention.

IMG_0257

Such as Sebring,

IMG_0263

Dax 427 &

IMG_0266

And this XK120 replica.

Having exhausted our time at Stoneleigh, we decided to head over the the Motor Heritage Museum where there was a Land Rover show on. I don’t know much about Landies so here are some pictures I took.

IMG_0288 

Great parking.

IMG_0284

IMG_0280 

Modified Land Rovers used in the Judge Dredd film.

IMG_0286

This is the actual Defender used by Angelina Jolie used in the Tomb Raider films.

IMG_0285

Specially modified to look like the one in Shaun The Sheep!

IMG_0287

And this is what Peter drives.

We then headed in to the Heritage Museum to see some fantastic cars.

IMG_0282

Lady Penelope’s car from Thunderbirds.

IMG_0281     

IMG_0283

World record diesel car.

So that was our exciting day out.

More news on my car build very soon.

Leave a comment