Battery Mount Panel

Posted: April 13, 2008 in Electrics

Mounting the battery is a little bit of a problem for me as without any bodywork to reference (yes, I still have no bodywork!) it is difficult to know where to mount the battery where is it accessible, safe and most importantly, to fit with the wiring loom.

After some thought, I decided to make a panel to sit the battery on. I have purchased the actual battery holder so that is a nice light weight aluminium bracket to actually hold the battery. I just needed to make the panel the whole things sits on.

DSC00151

So I decided to make a panel to sit on the top of the passenger side between where the firewall will eventually go and the engine cradle.

The first stage was to make cardboard template.

DSC00153

Because the panel will need to fit around the chassis, fuel pipes, electrical cables etc, it needs to be this odd shape with several cutouts.

Once I was happy with the shape, I used this cardboard as a template for cutting the aluminium.

DSC00184

I finished the edges with some glued on ‘U’ rubber trim. The panel was riveted to the chassis and the bottom of the engine cradle.

So with the battery in place it looks line this.

DSC00187

Great, but now that it is all in place, I realise that this is not going to work as the battery is not supported enough so I have decided to re-do this panel with a different design. But I did have my hands full this week so it will have to wait. 

Leave a comment