Front Suspension Step By Step

Posted: June 3, 2008 in Suspension

One of the things I did today was to put together the passenger side front suspension and decided to take pictures if each step of the process.

DSC00335

The first step is to fit the upper and lower wishbones on to the chassis. This is done via a nylon bushes and a 12mm bolt.

DSC00336

DSC00338

This is actually much harder than it sounds as it is very tight. The technique that I used was to use the end of a screwdriver to provide a ramp which the outer bush sides down in to the bracket. Without this it is very difficult to get the bushes in to the brackets both sides. I also used a bit of grease so help things along.

Next was fitting the top and bottom ball joints which is what connects to the hub.

DSC00337

DSC00339 

Next I fitted the ‘mushroom’ to the hub. This domed fitting goes in the top of the hub and is used to adjust the vehicle setup (but how I am not sure).

DSC00340

DSC00341

DSC00342

Again, this is a bit of a tight fit but with the use of a little grease, a big screwdriver and a rubber hammer, it was fitted.

DSC00343

The hub is then bolted to the top and bottom ball joints.

DSC00344

Next up was the coil-over which is bolted to the bottom wishbone the chassis at the top. I used a couple of washers to pad the coil-over and stop it moving laterally.

With that all largely assembled, I did a little work to get the hub upright.

DSC00346

It is fairly irrelevant at this stage as once the car is on the floor and the weight of the car is on it, it will need doing again. But I  thought I might as well get it level to start with.

DSC00347

The adjustment is made by changing the length of the upper ball joint thing.

DSC00348

So there we have the finished front passenger suspension. The steering rack is also extended out to the hub but I have not fitted them yet as the paint was still drying at this stage.         

Leave a comment